Fine Arts Festival 2018

The Arts Council of Moore County (ACMC) created the Fine Arts Festival (FAF) in 1980 to provide incentive for local artists to improve their technique and a place to showcase and sell their artwork. The festival has since grown into a major art exhibit featuring artwork by artists from all over the country. The artwork is also judged and cash prizes and ribbons are awarded.

Congratulations to the following winners of the
38th annual FINE ARTS FESTIVAL 2018


“X’s and O’s”
Category: Painting
By Kim Sobat of Southern Pines, NC



To be announced August 21.
Stop by the gallery and vote for your favorite!



1st place: Kim Sobat (Southern Pines) – “X’s and O’s”
2nd place: Shannon Shreve (Southern Pines) – “Aja”
3rd place: Frank Pierce (Southern Pines) – “Bud, framed in a Pepperoni Pizza”

Honorable Mention:
Tyler Munson (Pinehurst) – “Return to the Burning”
Susan Mauney (Pinehurst) – “Empty Porch #45”
Sandy Scott (Sanford) – “Mt. Fuji”
Amy Beshgetoorian (Clayton) – “Vintage Ride”
Sharon Ferguson (West End) – “Passing Storm”
Nancy Dorsey (Carthage) – “Ocean Deep”
Samuel Prater (Pinebluff) – “Left Open”
Raymond LaMontia (Siler City) – “Long Days Journey Into Night”
Rich Flanagan (Pinehurst) – “Atlantic Sunrise”


1st place: Betsey MacDonald (Clayville, RI) – “Tanzanian Teenagers”
2nd place: Jane Hixson (Pinehurst) – The Barns at Buchan Field”
3rd place: Sharon Ferguson (West End) – “Mid Summer Lights”

Honorable Mention:
Betty Hendrix (Whispering Pines) – “Jazz Trombone”
Michele Draughon (Hurdle Mills) – “Far Pasture”
Pamela Powers January (Southern Pines) – “Bright Eyes”


1st place: Ian Griffin (Durham) – “Sutured Composition with 3 Circles”
2nd place: Sandy Stratil (Whispering Pines) – “Journey: Venizia”
3rd place: Betsey MacDonald (Clayville, RI) – “Down Time 3”

Honorable Mention:
Denise Rivers Ferrari (Southern Pines) – “Mr. Drumpf, Inc.”
Jillian Goldberg (Cary) – “Pied Beauty”
Skyla Stuckey (Carthage) – “Pueblo – American Impressions #1”
Eleanor Gallagher (Southern Pines) – “Endangered Frogs”


1st place: Michael Stratil (Whispering Pines) – “Martial Arts”
2nd place: Mike Cumber (Garner) – “Parma Saturday A.M.”
3rd place: Bill May (Pinehurst) – “Solar Eclipse 2017”

Honorable Mention:
Tom Reedy (Pinehurst) – “Spoonbill”
Debra Regula (Pinehurst) – “Significant Otter”
Frank Pierce (Southern Pines) – “Please Do Not Sit on the Steps”
Hollie Fleck (Pinehurst) – “Y’all Come Back Now (OBX)”


1st place: Barry Purrington (Pinehurst) – “Musical Chair”
2nd place: Linda Dalton (West End) – “Fiddlehead”
3rd place: Linda Dalton (West End) – “Sunny Day”

Honorable Mention:
Pinkie Castanien (Pinehurst) – “Antique Lace Bowl”
Mandy Hambel (West End) – “A Walk in the Woods”
Sandra Hastings (Pinehurst) – “Shopping Bag”
Christine Jepsen (Vass) – “Windswept”

2018 Judges:   Janette Hopper, artist, Wilmington, NC


A Purchase Award is the opportunity for businesses and individuals to support the festival artists by pledging to purchase artwork prior to the festival. In addition to selling their artwork, the artist also receive a ribbon.

Amy Beshgetoorian (Clayton), “Perpetual Motion” (Painting)
Dr. Bill Terry of Women’s Care Center of Pinehurst Surgical Clinic

Cathy D’Archangelo (Willow Spring), “Reflections in the Wind” (Painting)
John & Cathy Wiedmer of Jay-Kar Contracting

Sharon Ferguson (West End), “Mid Summer Lights” (Drawing/Pastel)
Hollie Gironda of Hollie’s Catering

Sharon Ferguson (West End), “Passing Storm” (Painting)
Susan Gaines

Diane Flanegan (Pinehurst), “Shell in Motion” (3-D)
Jim & Michele Williford

Joanne Thornton (Pinehurst), “Extravagance” (Mixed Media)
Jim & Michele Williford

Hollie Fleck (Pinehurst), “Y’all Come Back Now” (Photograph)
Lorraine Laslett of AutoWerks

Pamela Powers January (Southern Pines), “Tyger, Tyger” (Drawing/Pastel)
Lucille & Jim Buck

Leigh Lassiter (Carthage), “Sunflower Glow” (Drawing/Pastel)
Stuart Fulghum of KFS Design

Ken McNeill (Sanford), “Deconstruction” (painting)
Stuart Fulghum of KFS Design

Kathy Leuck (Pinehurst), “King of the Roost” (Mixed Media)
Michael Holden of Michael R. Holden, CPA

Manny Perez (Willow Spring), “Entities” (Painting)
Virginia C. Thomasson, CPA

Michele Rocket (Pinehurst), “Creation” (Photography)
Milton Pilson of 195 Restaurant/One Nine Drive

Pam Swarbrick (Pinehurst), “No Kidding” (Painting)
Milton Pilson of 195 Restaurant/One Nine Drive

Debra Rhodes Smith (Pinehurst), “Blissful Morning” (Photography)
Dr. Tommy McDonell

Fay Terry (Pinehurst), “Kinetic Herring” (Mixed Media)
Virginia C. Thomasson, CPA

Jillian Goldberg (Cary), “Pied Beauty” (Mixed Media)
Denis McCullough of Denis McCullough Interior Design

Past Fine Arts Festival winners: 2018 | 2017 | 2016201520142013 | 20122011 | 2010